Copa America: Copa America winners: full and up to date checklist of all of the groups which have received the event

The Copa America is the oldest worldwide event on this planet of soccer, which in 2024 celebrates 108 years of historical past with a particular version that includes extra groups than ever. So, who will compete and who has received the well-known, prestigious competitors earlier than?

The event was first performed in Argentina in 1916 and was referred to as the South American Nationwide Staff Championship and since then, 47 editions have been performed, with the forty eighth starting on June 20 in Miami, Florida.

Though the event is named Copa America, solely two editions have been performed with groups from all around the Americas (North and South). Once in 2016 and once more in 2024 with the USA inserting fourth within the former.

For 2024, there might be six visitor nations with representatives of CONCACAF competing within the type of Canada, Costa Rica, america, Jamaica, Mexico and Panama in one other particular one off version.

However there are an ever 10 current nations that make up the South American Soccer Confederation (CONMEBOL). They’re Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela.

From them, the earlier 47 champions have emerged with Argentina being the latest victors previous to happening to win the FIFA World Cup in December 2022 as Lionel Messi obtained his palms on two main worldwide trophies to safe his legacy.

What number of Copa America does every crew have?

Argentina and Uruguay are the groups which have received the event probably the most instances, with 15 winners medals every, though the defending champions have performed in 29 finals in comparison with 21 for the a lot smaller nation.

Behind comes Brazil, with 9 titles and 12 misplaced finals, with their final victory within the competitors coming in 2019 after they beat Peru 3-1 on the Estadio de Maracana in Rio de Janeiro on July 7 for his or her first title since 2007.

Behind them comes a gaggle of three nations with two championships every of Paraguay, Chile and Peru, whereas Colombia and Bolivia have solely received as soon as. Lastly, Ecuador and Venezuela have by no means received the event

Curiously, Mexico is the one crew not belonging to CONMEBOL to have disputed the title, with two finals appearances in 1993 and 2002, in addition to three third locations: 1997, 1999 and 2007. Can they be the primary CONCACAF aspect to go all the best way in 2024?

  • Argentina: 15 titles; 14 runners-up.
  • Uruguay: 15 titles; six runners-up.
  • Brazil: 9 titles; 12 runners-up.
  • Paraguay: Two titles; six runners-up.
  • Chile: Two titles; 4 runners-up.
  • Peru: Two titles; one runner-up.
  • Colombia: One title; one runner-up.
  • Bolivia: One title; one runner-up.

What time is the primary match of the Copa America 2024?

As at all times, the beginning time of the Argentina vs Canada recreation will rely upon the place you’re positioned. To simplify issues for you, beneath are the most typical kick-off instances:

  • Central Customary Time (CDT): 7:00
  • East Coast Time (ET): 8:00
  • Pacific Time (PT): 3:00

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *