Crimson Bull off to an uphill begin in Bahrain as Mercedes dominate Apply 2 with Hamilton and Russell quickest

The preliminary impression of Crimson Bull‘s dominance within the 2024 Components 1 season opener was not as clear-cut because it appeared.

The primary day of official actions on the Bahrain Grand Prix raised questions in regards to the Milton Keynes-based workforce’s efficiency.

Crimson Bull’s epic teasing of Lando NorrisRoberto Ortega

Within the first follow session, each Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez did not set the tempo. This development continued into Apply 2 at Sakhir, the place they completed sixth and tenth respectively.

In distinction, Mercedes left a optimistic impression, with Lewis Hamilton main the way in which (1:30.374), adopted intently by George Russell (+0.206). The ‘Spanish Armada’ of Fernando Alonso (+0.286) and Carlos Sainz (+0.395) additionally confirmed robust performances.

What occurred with Perez?

The efficiency of Checo Perez, nevertheless, was a blended bag. Whereas he confirmed promise within the ‘race tempo’ programme, clocking within the mid 1:36s, his begin was marred by pushing too laborious, leading to slower occasions within the 1:37s.

In distinction, his teammate Max Verstappen was extra constant, finishing the programme within the 1:36s.

It grew to become obvious that the RB20 was not the quickest automotive on the monitor. Verstappen and Perez needed to push laborious in corners, particularly within the first two sectors of the Sakhir circuit, as their occasions dropped within the final sector.

The primary day of Components 1 actions on the Bahrain Grand Prix noticed Mercedes as the largest shock, whereas Crimson Bull left some doubts.

The RB-Visa workforce, who had a robust displaying in P1, struggled in P2, with Ricciardo ending twelfth and Tsunoda fifteenth.

Red Bull off to an uphill start in Bahrain as Mercedes dominate Practice 2 with Hamilton and Russell quickest

Outcomes after FP2 in Bahrain

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  2. George Russell (Mercedes)
  3. Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)
  4. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  5. Oscar Piastri (McLaren)
  6. Max Verstappen (Crimson Bull)
  7. Nico Hulkenberg (Haas)
  8. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  9. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  10. Sergio Perez (Crimson Bull)
  11. Alexander Albon (Williams)
  12. Daniel Ricciardo (RB)
  13. Logan Sargeant (Williams)
  14. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
  15. Yuki Tsunoda (RB)
  16. Pierre Gasly (Alpine)
  17. Valtteri Bottas (Sauber)
  18. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
  19. Guanyu Zhou (Sauber)
  20. Lando Norris (McLaren)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *