Did Lions’ Taylor Decker report himself as eligible in controversial play vs. Cowboys?

Detroit Lions offensive sort out Taylor Decker was flagged for “unlawful touching” after catching a move from Jared Goff ultimately zone on a two-point conversion that may have basically given them a Week 17 highway win Saturday night time over the Dallas Cowboys at AT&T Stadium.

Decker, 30, apparently didn’t report himself as “eligible” earlier than the play regardless of strolling as much as an official alongside a teammate. He remained coy whereas claiming in any other case throughout his postgame interview with the media within the locker room.

“All I actually need to say on it, simply so I do not get myself in bother, is I did precisely what coach advised me to do,” Decker mentioned. “Went to the ref, mentioned report, and yeah, I do not know.”

Lions offensive sort out Dan Skipper, quantity “70,” is the opposite teammate who walked as much as the official alongside Decker, quantity “68,” and in contrast to the latter, he reported himself eligible, albeit for no motive, based on the ref.

NFL ref Brad Allen offers his facet of flag

After the sport, the referee in query, Brad Allen, gave his rationalization for throwing the flag that negated the two-point conversion.

“So, we had a state of affairs the place should you have been going to have an ineligible quantity occupy an eligible place, it’s important to report that to the referee,” Allen mentioned. “On this specific play, quantity 70, who had reported in the course of the sport a few instances, reported to me as eligible. Then, he lined up on the sort out place. So, really, he did not must report in any respect.

“Quantity 68, who ended up going downfield and touching the move, didn’t report. Due to this fact, he’s an ineligible touching a move that goes past the road, which makes it a foul. So, the problem is, quantity 70 did report, quantity 68 didn’t.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *