Latest Match Report – Australia vs West Indies 1st T20I 2023/24

West Indies received the toss and determined to bowl in opposition to Australia

Captain Rovman Powell received the toss and elected to bowl on a grassy Bellerive Oval floor with West Indies boosted by the return of key gamers within the T20I series-opener in opposition to Australia.

After being whitewashed within the three-match ODI collection, punctuated by humiliatingly being bowled out for 86 in Canberra, West Indies will boast a powerful line-up, together with Brandon King, Andre Russell and Nicholas Pooran for the primary time on tour.

West Indies have robust kind within the format having received their final two collection in opposition to England and India.

With Matthew Wade taking the gloves for Australia, Josh Inglis will play as a specialist batter and has been named to open the batting alongside David Warner.

Having starred in India in a five-match T20I collection late final yr, left-arm fast Jason Behrendorff will get his probability alongside Josh Hazlewood and Sean Abbott. Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis return after lacking the ODI collection.

Multi-format gamers Steven Smith, Travis Head, Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc have been rested, however there might be loads of jockeying for spots with the T20 World Cup looming.

Captain Mitchelll Marsh will play regardless of testing constructive to Covid-19, however might be required to comply with distancing protocols. Warner, taking part in in his one centesimal T20I, stood in for Marsh on the toss and stated Australia would have bowled first.

The three-match collection successfully ramps up T20 World Cup preparations for each groups with Australia having six matches within the subsequent three weeks, whereas West Indies will use this collection to choose a squad for a World Cup performed on house soil.

The groups final performed T20Is in opposition to one another in October 2022 with Australia successful 2-0 in Queensland.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Josh Inglis, 3 Mitchell Marsh (capt), 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5, Marcus Stoinis, 6 Tim David, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Sean Abbott, 9 Adam Zampa, 10 Jason Behrendorff, 11 Josh Hazlewood

West Indies 1 Brandon King, 2 Johnson Charles, 3 Nicholas Pooran (wk), 4 Shai Hope, 5 Rovman Powell (c), 6 Sherfane Rutherford, 7 Andre Russell, 8 Romario Shepherd, 9 Akeal Hosein, 10 Alzarri Joseph, 11 Gudakesh Motie

Tristan Lavalette is a journalist based mostly in Perth

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *