MLB Information: Caribbean Collection 2024 predictions: Which groups are the favorites to win this yr’s event?

After greater than three many years, the Caribbean Collection returns to a U.S. metropolis, beginning this Thursday at LoanDepot Park, residence of the Miami Marlins, the place the Tigres de Licey, representatives of the Dominican Republic arrive as defending champions.

This version, nonetheless, won’t embrace representatives from Cuba and Colombia.

Vladimir Guerrero Jr, MARCA interview: “I’m actually honored!”LW

The remainder of the members are:

  • Tigres de Licey (Dominican Republic).
  • Tiburones de La Guaira (Venezuela),
  • Criollos de Caguas (Puerto Rico),
  • Federales de Chiriqu (Panama)
  • Gigantes de Rivas (Nicaragua),
  • Curacao Suns (Curacao), and
  • Naranjeros de Hermosillo (Mexico)

The final time this Latin American Baseball Basic was performed in the US was in 1991, when Tigres del Licey gained, however that version was held on the now defunct Bobby Maduro Stadium. For this version, the event will probably be function three video games for every group within the first spherical.

The semifinals will probably be held on February 8 and the ultimate is scheduled for February 9. The stadium, which can host the event, has a capability for 37,000 followers.

The favorites to win the 2024 Caribbean Collection

Tigres de Licey

The Tigres del Licey are the winningest membership within the occasion, with 11 trophies of their trophy cupboard. Simply over the weekend they gained their twenty fourth LIDOM title by defeating the Estrellas Orientales to win their second championship of their nation.

They’re additionally the defending champions of the Caribbean Collection, after successful the 2023 version held in Caracas. The group arrives as favorites for this version, though they are going to be with out considered one of their essential stars, Jorge Alfaro. Nevertheless, they’ll have the reinforcement of former main league participant Robinson Can, together with Csar Valdez and Ral Valds, as the bottom of their beginning lineup.

Tiburones de La Guaira

The LVBP champions return to the event for the primary time since 1986 and their return comes with a renewed and bolstered squad with 10 gamers: Hernn Prez, Alexi Amarista, Wilfredo Tovar, Anthony Vizcaya, Silvino Bracho, amongst others, below the command of the skilled Ozzie Guilln, in quest of their first Caribbean title. Nevertheless, they’re additionally lacking Maikel Garca.

Naranjeros de Hermosillo

The Mexican outfit is likely one of the groups with the longest custom within the Collection. On this version they arrive with a balanced group to battle for the title, after reserving their ticket by sweeping the Venados de Mazatln.

They’ve 14 new gamers on their roster, amongst them, their essential star, Main League participant Isaac Paredes. In addition they have Jasson Atondo, Alan Rangel and Csar Salazar. The Naranjeros gained again in 1976 and 2014, and a 3rd title would make them the winningest Mexican group within the Collection.

Criollos de Caguas

The Criollos de Caguas gained the twenty first title of their historical past, defeating the Carolina Giants. Their star participant is Enmanuel Rivera, who leads a group with Ricardo Gmez, Alex Claudio and Christian Torres of their pitching spine, in addition to Vimael Machn and Jancarlos Cintrn as their essential hitters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *