Neil Wagner replaces Matt Henry in New Zealand squad for Bangladesh tour

Left-arm quick bowler Neil Wagner has changed the injured Matt Henry in New Zealand’s squad for the two-Take a look at collection in opposition to Bangladesh.
Henry had picked up a hamstring damage throughout the World Cup recreation in opposition to South Africa on November 1, and was thus dominated out of the remainder of the competitors. He was anticipated to get slot in time for the Exams in Bangladesh, however on additional scans and assessments, it was deemed that the damage had not sufficiently healed.
“It’s going to be nice to have Neil’s talent and expertise on the tour of Bangladesh,” Sam Wells, New Zealand’s selector, mentioned. “His report speaks for itself, and everyone knows what an ideal competitor he’s. He is performed loads of cricket within the sub-continent, and I do know he is actually excited by the problem forward.”
Wagner, 37, had missed two rounds of the continued Plunkett Protect as a consequence of a again damage earlier than returning to motion for Northern Districts earlier within the week. The final of his 63 Exams was additionally New Zealand’s final within the format – in opposition to Sri Lanka this March – whilst he wasn’t a part of the unique spin-heavy squad named by New Zealand for the Bangladesh tour.

The primary Take a look at in opposition to Bangladesh will probably be New Zealand’s first of the present World Take a look at Championship (WTC) cycle from 2023-25. Wagner had completed the earlier WTC cycle with 18 wickets.

The vast majority of the New Zealand squad, who had additionally featured within the World Cup in India, are presently recovering in Dubai earlier than they relocate to Sylhet subsequent week. As for the opposite Bangladesh-bound gamers, they depart on November 21 forward of the opening Take a look at from November 28 in Sylhet.

Up to date squad: Tim Southee (capt), Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Kane Williamson, Will Younger, Neil Wagner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *