Olav Kooij took the win for the second stage in a row during the Tour of Britain

In stage two of the Tour of Britain, Olav Kooij won for the second time in a row after edging out his competitors in a sprint to the finish line.

Wout van Aert of Belgium came in third place, barely behind Kooij and Danny van Poppel, both of whom are riders from the Netherlands.

After placing sixth on the 109.9-kilometer round around Wrexham, Ethan Vernon was once again the best rider from the United Kingdom.

Tom Pidcock, who competes for Ineos Grenadiers and has high aspirations of contending for the overall victory when the race comes to a close on Sunday, finished eighth.

The peloton took control of the race early on and was able to gather in a small breakaway group in preparation for a bunch sprint. Kooij’s victory followed a strategy that was very similar to the one that he used to win in Manchester on Sunday.

And Van Aert once again led out his Jumbo-Visma team-mate in the finale, which was overshadowed by Tobias Lund Andresen’s big fall as the leaders geared up for the finish. However, Van Aert was able to come out on top in the end.

It is anticipated that the sprinters will have an advantage during Tuesday’s 154.7-kilometer run from Goole to Beverley.

Stage two results

1. Olav Kooij (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) 2hrs 22mins 51secs

2. Danny van Poppel (Ned/Bora-hansgrohe) Same time

3. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma)

4. Sam Bennett (Ire/Bora-hansgrohe)

5. Max Kanter (Ger/Movistar)

6. Ethan Vernon (GB/Great Britain)

7. Luke Lamperti (US/Trinity Racing)

8. Stian Fredheim (Nor/Uno-X Pro)

9. Tom Pidcock (GB/Ineos Grenadiers)

10. Davide Bomboi (Bel/TdT-Unibet)

General classification after stage two

1. Olav Kooij (Ned/Jumbo-Visma) 6hrs 13mins 53secs

2. Wout van Aert (Bel/Jumbo-Visma) Same time

3. Sam Bennett (Ire/Bora-hansgrohe)

4. Max Kanter (Ger/Movistar)

5. Danny van Poppel (Ned/Bora-hansgrohe)

6. Ethan Vernon (GB/Great Britain)

7. Stian Fredheim (Nor/Uno-X Pro)

8. Davide Bomboi (Bel/TdT-Unibet)

9. Tom Pidcock (GB/Ineos Grenadiers)

10. Gonzalo Serrano (Spa/Movistar)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *