Ranji Trophy – Madhya Pradesh attain semi-finals by beating Andhra in thriller

Madhya Pradesh 234 (Dubey 64, Mantri 49, Sasikanth 4-37) and 107 (Mantri 43, Nitish 4-28) beat Andhra 172 (Shinde 38, Anubhav 3-33, Kartikeya 3-41) and 165 (Vihari 55, Anubhav 6-52) by 4 runs

In a recreation that wildly swung each methods in Indore, Madhya Pradesh, champions of 2021-22, held their nerve to inflict heartbreak on Andhra to enter the Ranji Trophy semi-finals. Enjoying a key function of their defence of 170 was quick bowler Anubhav Agarwal, who picked up career-best figures of 6 for 52 as Andhra had been bowled out for 165 whereas chasing 170.

Andhra’s goals of a maiden semi-final berth regarded attainable at 112 for 4, earlier than Agarwal cracked opened the sport with wickets in consecutive overs. He first had Karan Shinde lbw after which dismissed Hanuma Vihari, the captain, caught behind. Till then, Vihari had regarded assured in defence to make a stonewalling 55 off 136 balls. When Agarwal dismissed Shoaib Khan for a first-ball duck, Andhra had been 118 for 7, nonetheless 52 away.

Ashwin Hebbar, the allrounder, saved combating and added 32 for the ninth wicket with quick bowler Girinath Reddy. The pair batted out 13 overs to frustrate MP earlier than Agarwal returned to dismiss Girinath.

The ultimate wicket was picked up by their new import, Kulwant Khejroliya, the left-arm quick bowler, when he dismissed Hebbar for 22 as MP pulled off a heist that regarded a tad troublesome once they had been shot out for 107 within the second innings.

That complete, as modest as it could appear, was solely attainable as a result of Himanshu Mantri, the wicketkeeper, batted with great grit to attain 43. Within the total context, his scores of 49 and 43 within the match had been massively important, although Agarwal was named Participant of the Match for his haul of 9 for 85.

Andhra would replicate upon a number of moments the place they appeared to have the higher hand, solely to let it slip. Within the first innings, they bundled out MP for 234, however could not capitalise with the bat as they fell behind by 62 runs.

Then they got here storming again by Nitish Reddy and KV Sasikanth, who picked up seven wickets between them, as MP had been skittled for 107, earlier than they collapsed within the second innings once more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *