Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2023 – Baroda, Punjab, Delhi and Assam advance to semi-finals

Baroda, Punjab, Delhi, and Assam booked their locations within the 2023 Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy semi-finals on Thursday. Whereas Baroda eradicated defending champions Mumbai, Punjab received a closely-fought contest in opposition to a Rinku Singh-inspired Uttar Pradesh. Within the different two video games, there have been comparatively easy wins for Delhi, who knocked out Vidarbha, and Assam, who outplayed Kerala to achieve the semis for the primary time within the T20 competitors.

Sopariya, Solanki knock Mumbai out

Baroda 149 for 7 (Solanki 49*, Jyotsnil 34, Avasthi 2-38) beat Mumbai 148 for 8 (Dube 48, Sarfaraz 33, Sopariya 3-16) by three wickets

Proper-arm medium pacer Soyeb Sopariya ran by means of Mumbai’s prime order to arrange a memorable victory for Baroda in Mullanpur. After inserting Mumbai to bat, he trapped opener Jay Bista lbw within the first over. He additionally despatched Ajinkya Rahane again within the third over, after which had Yashasvi Jaiswal nicking off for a 14-ball 8 proper after the powerplay.

Sopariya ultimately completed with figures of three for 16, whereas fellow fast Lukman Meriwala took a wicket and conceded simply 18 runs.

Shivam Dube (48 off 36) and Sarfaraz Khan (33 off 22) tried to get Mumbai’s innings again on observe, however Abhimanyusingh Rajput dismissed each set batters to assist limit Mumbai to 148.

Baroda misplaced an early wicket of their chase, however opener Jyotsnil Singh and No. 3 Rajput steadied them until the eighth over. Then, Mumbai effected a mini-collapse as Baroda slid from 64 for 1 to 88 for 4 in 21 deliveries.

However Vishnu Solanki, at No. 5, ensured Baroda obtained the job executed, whilst he misplaced three companions on the different finish. Solanki hit two sixes and 5 fours in his unbeaten 49 off 30 as Baroda chased the goal with seven balls to spare.

Rinku fireworks not sufficient for UP

Punjab 174 for five (Wadhera 52, Anmolpreet 43, Mohsin 3-34) beat Uttar Pradesh 169 for 3 (Rinku 77*, Rizvi 42*, Brar 1-28) by 5 wickets

Rinku Singh added one other sensational rescue knock in his already glowing resume, smashing 77 not out off simply 33 deliveries, however Punjab nonetheless trumped Uttar Pradesh in a thriller in Mohali to achieve the semi-finals.

Rinku got here out to bat with UP struggling at 53 for 3 within the twelfth over. He began fast, hitting a boundary off the third ball he confronted. Rinku discovered help in Sameer Rizvi as they plundered 116 in 53 balls. Rizvi completed unbeaten on 42 off 29, hitting 4 sixes and a 4, whereas Rinku notched up 4 fours and 6 sixes, three of which got here off the ultimate over bowled by Arshdeep Singh.

Punjab slipped to 14 for 3 within the fourth over because of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohsin Khan. However Nehal Wadhera and Anmolpreet Singh rescued them with a 72-run stand.

UP bounced again, courtesy Mohsin. He eliminated Anmolpreet for 43 off 29 and Wadhera for a 39-ball 52 within the thirteenth and fifteenth over, respectively.

Punjab nonetheless wanted 55 off 31 deliveries and Sanvir Singh and Ramandeep Singh introduced their big-hitting prowess to the get together. Sanvir made 35 not out off 13 deliveries, whereas Ramandeep scored 22 to take Punjab residence within the last over.

Rawat, Dhull encourage Delhi into the semis

Delhi 176 for six (Rawat 68, Dhull 43, Umesh 4-30) beat Vidarbha 137 for 9 (Dubey 44*, Lalit 2-16, Mayank 2-25) by 39 runs

After Umesh Yadav’s strike within the third over, Rawat and Dhull saved the scorecard ticking for Delhi. Rawat primarily performed the anchor’s function, scoring a 53-ball 68, whereas Dhull made 43 off 29.

Ayush Badoni additionally chipped in with a 17-ball 28 on the demise to take Delhi to 176, whilst Umesh registered a four-wicket haul.

Vidarbha might by no means discover their momentum with the bat, dropping wickets in common intervals and slipping to 85 for six within the thirteenth over. Vidarbha’s No. 6 Shubham Dubey tried to defy the Delhi bowlers along with his 44 however it wasn’t sufficient. In the long run, Vidarbha fell 39 runs quick.

Assam coast previous Kerala

Assam 162 for 4 (Ghadigaonkar 75, Roy 42*, Joseph 2-17) beat Kerala 158 for six (Nizar 57*, Basith 54, Sengupta 3-30) by six wickets

After unprecedented
seven fifties in a row on this competitors, Assam captain Riyan Parag failed to fireplace in Mohali, however they’d little bother in defeating Kerala to achieve the semi-finals for the primary time. Assam had gotten higher of Kerala of their league-stage encounter as properly.

He managed the chase of 159, placing on vital partnerships with opener Rishav Das and No. 5 Sibsankar Roy.

Earlier, Assam had Kerala on the mat early as they slipped to 44 for five within the seventh over. However Salman Nizar and Abdul Basith hit half-centuries every and placed on a 101-run stand to take Kerala to 158.

After dropping opener Denish Das trapped lbw within the first over, Ghadigaonkar and Rishav stitched a 69-run stand with the previous dominating the partnership.

With Roy, Ghadigaonkar added 49 runs and when he departed, Assam had been solely 14 runs away from victory. They obtained there in the long run with 17 balls to spare.

Abhimanyu Bose is a sub-editor with ESPNcricinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *